BEST-EVER Spicy Tuna Salad

I took a French pastries from scratch course this morning but didn’t enjoy it as much as I should’ve because of the group dynamic. The class was small, 8 people instead of the usual 12, and I was put in a group with three others that didn’t pay attention very well and would often need instructions repeated back to them. Whereas in my other classes the groups I’ve been in have been quite egalitarian about sharing the tasks so that everyone gets a chance to do a little bit of everything, my group today was more selfish. Their attitude was really exemplified at the end of the lesson when we were given boxes to take home the pastries we’d made and everyone (the other group as well) snatched as many pastries as they could. I was a little disgusted by this but did manage to snag two of each type of pastry (macarons with maple buttercream, creme chantillies, and strawberry financiers). I ended up giving it to a man sitting on a corner with a cardboard sign that mentioned being hungry. I hope I made his day a little better.

Since I didn’t eat at the class I decided to fix up a tuna salad for lunch. Added in some hot sauce in at the end and it was absolutely the best tuna salad I’ve ever had. Shoutout to the Food Network Kitchen for coming up with a recipe so simple but so incredibly tasty.

PS: I found a set of 6 tiny Tabascos at the World Market store. Aren’t these the cutest things you’ve ever seen???????

tuna salad

Prep Time: 10 minutes | Cook Time: none!

Servings: 1-2 (depending on how hungry you are)

Ingredients:

  • 2 small (6 oz) cans of tuna
  • 2 tablespoons celery, FINELY chopped
  • 2 tablespoons onion, FINELY chopped
  • 1 teaspoon flat-leaf parsley, VERY FINELY MINCED (it will taste bad if you don’t mince it finely enough)
  • 1-1.5 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup mayo
  • dash of garlic salt and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • hot sauce of your choice (I used both Dave’s Insanity Sauce and Tabasco – but with two different batches), to taste

Instructions:

  1. In a small mixing bowl break up the tuna with a fork.
  2. Toss with the celery, onion, and parsley.
  3. dd the mayonnaise, mustard and season with pepper, to taste. Stir to combine. Add lemon juice to taste.

Recipe adapted from the Food Network Kitchens.

Leave a Reply

